Can you ever leave a practice that you love?

Six years ago I announced my retirement and moved away to be closer to my family. But how could I leave the reiki practice that I loved?

One night during the quiet hours of contemplating that question, I thought I heard the universe laugh as I learned my grandson broke his arm playing basketball at school. Quick. Do reiki while the surgeon puts his bone back where it belongs.

Then it stood in anticipation when the call came informing me of a dear friend-of-the-family’s recent stroke. And I began hours of reiki towards his recovery journey.

I heard a little giggle after I tripped on an uneven sidewalk in the dark in the rain and fractured my wrist. Lots of self reiki was administered during that time.

I’m sure it was shaking its head, when Covid arrived and reiki was needed for all my family at one time or another over the next two years, both in-person and remotely.

Not to mention all the bumps, bruises, coughs, and fevers that come with school age children. I was certainly busy practicing the thing I retired from.

With a move back to San Diego a year ago, I wondered if I should/could revise my practice here once more. I wasn’t interested in having a full-time business, but I knew I had to do the work. It seemed every time I questioned this, the phone would ring, or an email would arrive asking if I’m doing sessions? Teaching? Holding group practice? Reiju (Jikiden Reiki Initiations)? Coffee dates?

I am doing it all. Although this time serving others more organically (as the need arises) and holding small group Shoden and Okuden trainings quarterly.

And last I checked, the universe was sitting back and smiling.

New Practice Name: Jikiden Reiki with LGeorge

I can be reached at lorgeo@me.com or follow me on Instagram https://instagram.com/jikidenreiki_with_lgeorge?igshid=OGQ5ZDc2ODk2ZA%3D%3D&utm_source=qr

Leave a comment